Domaine GADAIS Pèr et Fils
Français
English
Deutsch

Our History

Originally operating a small mixed farm, the family rapidly specialized in the growing of wine grapes.

As early as 1952, Louis Gadais began selling his wine directly in bottles and was considered a pioneer in the matter. This new outlet proved immediately promising and the export markets soon took an interest in this atypical winemaker. Indeed, by 1959, Gadais Muscadet could be purchased in New York, at 1036 Park Avenue.

At this time, Louis was joined by his sons Marcel and Michel, who pursued the same quality-driven policy that over the years would win the loyalty of the estate's clientele. Under the two brothers, the vineyard gradually expanded to cover some twenty hectares in the 1990s.

 

Today, under the impetus of Christophe Gadais, who served a long apprenticeship both abroad and in France's Sancerre region, the estate has taken on a whole new dimension. An angler who enjoys fishing the Sèvre and Maine winegrowing areas in his free time, our winemaker is particularly respectful of the environment.

The estate's 47 hectares, separated into 120 plots, receive minimal chemical treatments, taking into account the auxiliary fauna and tolerance thresholds. To protect the microbial life of the soil, copper treatments are no longer used and manure is applied in a measured, plot-by-plot manner according to the vigour of the vines. Occasionally, when Mother Nature proves too generous, our winemaker won't hesitate to sacrifice a portion of the harvest: carried out during the month of July, this "green harvest" consists of eliminating a portion of the bunches so as to produce more concentrated grapes. Indeed, his principal concern remains the endless quest for impeccable quality.

 

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé, à consommer avec modération.
Romain GADAIS © 2011

Domaine GADAIS Pèr et Fils
Français
English
Deutsch

Notre Histoire

D'une petite exploitation de polyculture et d'élevage, la famille s'est rapidement spécialisée dans la culture de la vigne.

Dès 1952, Louis Gadais chercha à vendre son vin directement en bouteilles et fut en cela considéré comme un précurseur en la matière. Ce nouveau débouché pour lui prit tout de suite de l'ampleur et les marchés d'exportation ne tardèrent pas à s'intéresser à ce vigneron original puisqu'en 1959, on trouvait du Muscadet Gadais à New York, au 1036 Park Avenue.

C'est à cette époque que ses fils Marcel et Michel viennent l'épauler et développer la même politique de qualité qui fidélisera une clientèle acquise au Muscadet de la maison. Avec les deux frères, le Domaine passera petit à petit à une vingtaine d'hectares dans les années 90.



 

Aujourd'hui, sous l'impulsion de Christophe Gadais qui a fait un long apprentissage à l'étranger et à Sancerre, le domaine a pris une nouvelle dimension. Pêcheur à ses heures perdues en Sèvre ou en Maine, notre vigneron accorde une attention toute particulière au respect de l'environnement.

Ainsi donc, les 47 hectares répartis sur 120 parcelles sont traités à minima en fonction de la faune auxiliaire et des seuils de tolérance. Pour préserver la vie microbienne des sols, les traitements au cuivre ont été abandonnés et les fumures sont raisonnées à la parcelle en fonction de la vigueur de la vigne. Parfois, lorsque la nature se veut trop généreuse, notre vigneron n'hésite pas à sacrifier une partie de la récolte : c'est la vendange en vert réalisée courant Juillet qui vise à supprimer une partie des grappes pour obtenir plus de concentration sur les raisins restants. En effet, la recherche perpétuelle d'une qualité irréprochable reste son souci majeur.

 

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé, à consommer avec modération.
Romain GADAIS © 2011